Все города > Dallas > Four Meditations; Kundalini, Thai, Tratak and Nidra

Four Meditations; Kundalini, Thai, Tratak and Nidra


Divine Sight Healing Arts Center
1320 Griffin St E 75215 Dallas United States
With David and Leah of Thai Love Yoga :)

Prepare your Self for 4 meditations which can allow you to go deeper into yourself than ever before. Any one of these ancient rituals alone can have profound effects on the mind and body, and this class will transform and energize you with all four.

We will begin with about 30 minutes of kundalini yoga, followed by about an hour of partnered Vedic Thai Yoga Massage. Next is our Tratak meditation where we will all learn to make our own ghee candles. Lastly, we take a little sleep with Yoga Nidra. :)

$35 in advance, $40 drop-in.

1-Kundalini, in yogic theory, is a primal energy, or shakti, located at the base of the spine and is described as lying "coiled" at the base of the spine, represented as either a goddess or sleeping serpent waiting to be awakened.

Kundalini awakening is said to result in deep meditation, enlightenment and bliss. This awakening involves the Kundalini physically moving up the central channel to reach within the Sahasrara Chakra at the top of the head. Many systems of yoga focus on the awakening of Kundalini through meditation, pranayama, the practice of asana and chanting of mantras. In physical terms, one commonly reports the Kundalini experience to be a feeling of electric current running along the spine.

A typical Kundalini Yoga class normally starts with a breathing exercise. Then we do some spinal warm-ups and stretching followed by a special set called a Kriya. A Kriya is a poetic progression of exercises which work in concert to create a synergistic, multi-dimensional, exponential effect. We mix it all together and by the end you will feel energized and relaxed, focused and expansive, all at the same time.

2 - Vedic Thai Yoga Bodywork, or "assisted asana" joined with Pranayama (breath control) to release physical and emotional tensions. As one practices asana it fosters a quieting of the mind, thus it becomes both a preparation for meditation and a meditation sufficient in and of itself. This wonderful folk art is a sacred offering of healing to body and soul and is reported to manifest instant positive results.

3- Tratak, or 'candle gazing' for Dharana, meaning "immovable concentration of the mind". The essential idea is to hold the concentration or focus of attention in one direction. Tratak, meditation on light, is a tool to bring together the widely scattered thoughts and feelings that seem to control our minds on a daily basis. The word Tratak comes from the Sanskrit 'trut' meaning the act of releasing tears. We gaze without blinking at a flame until tears form, then with closed eyes, we 'see' the after image at the third eye.

4- Yoga Nidra, a guided meditation, refers to the conscious awareness of the Deep Sleep state. Yoga Nidra was taught by the ancient sages for the purpose of exploring the deep impressions or samskaras, which drive our actions or karma. They taught this so that sincere seekers can purify the deeper aspect of the mind-field, which is accessed in the formless state of conscious Deep Sleep.

This moves us toward Samadhi, meaning "to bring together, to merge." In the state of samadhi the body and senses are at rest, as if asleep, yet the faculty of mind and reason are alert, as if awake; one goes beyond consciousness. During samadhi, we realize what it is to be an identity without differences, and how a liberated soul can enjoy pure awareness of this pure identity. The conscious mind drops back into that unconscious oblivion from which it first emerged.

You will receive a Tratak booklet which explains the ritual, and we will have the supplies for you to make your own 'ghee candle'. You can also gaze at a mandala, a sculpture, the top of a tower, the sun (with experts' instructions!), moon or planets, a mountain peak or a flower!